Home » Clymers » 52 Ancestors #30: Rebecca A. Baldridge

52 Ancestors #30: Rebecca A. Baldridge

This week’s entry veers a bit from the line of ancestors I’ve been focusing on, but my discovery about this ancestor is important nonetheless.
I have been trying to put together enough facts and sources about James C. “Jonah” Clymer and his life to complete a Missouri First Families application with the state genealogical society. (There’s a workshop next week during the annual meeting so I’m hoping to have most things together so I can get some advice about what’s missing or necessary in order to make my application.)
Anyway, earlier this week I had to spend some time filling in the gaps of Jonah Clymer’s life. And, one of those big gaps happened to be the death of his first wife, Rebecca.
I knew from family lore that he had been married twice and that his second wife and their children were my direct line of ancestors. However, I needed to prove (somehow) that Rebecca died; I’ve seen her grave marker but don’t have a rubbing or any idea of whether it still exists since it’s a small family plot on the edge of someone’s farm.
And, to make things even more challenging, I knew that the state of Missouri didn’t start recording deaths until after 1883 and my recollection is that Rebecca Clymer died in 1882.
So, I set off to the research library at the State Historical Society to see what I could find.
I looked through a transcript of birth and death records for Scott County, just in case, she might be listed. Nothing.
I then checked a series of newsletters for the Scott County Genealogical Society to see what might be listed there. Again, nothing.
But, then I found a book of cemetery records that listed burials in the Clymer cemetery, complete with driving directions to the cemetery site.
Rebecca Clymer is listed as being buried there, along with two of her infant children. Her gravestone notes her birth as Nov. 16, 1845.
She was born as Rebecca Baldridge, according to Tennessee marriage records I’ve also found. She and J.C. Clymer (alternate spelling of Climer) were married in 1869 in Weakley County, Tenn.
They were living in Commerce, Mo., for the 1870 census and have a four-month-old son, Henderson. (He died in 1872.) The couple had another child, Mollie E., born July 26, 1872, who died Nov. 28, 1872. Their third child, Lizzie was born in 1874, followed by Lizzie in 1877 and Caladona “Callie” in 1879.
She and James C. Clymer are still living in Commerce, Mo., as of the 1880 census. It appears that two of her nieces, Allice, 14, and Selina, 10, Finley also are living with them, along with her father, William Baldridge, age 64, and James Baldridge, 28, who is likely her brother.
Rebecca died June 25, 1882.

Leave a Reply

