Home » Simpson » 52 Ancestors #13: Betty Sue Coats Simpson

52 Ancestors #13: Betty Sue Coats Simpson

I got a bit off course in the last week of March so this post is more than a week late. But I’m going to keep at it and write something short about my grandmother to finish out the Women’s History Month series about females in my family tree.

Betty Sue CoatsBetty Sue Coats was born October 22, 1933, in Walnut Ridge, Arkansas. I believe she was the oldest child of Fay and Mabel Loveland Snider, but I’m not certain of her birth order exactly. Her siblings were Elmer and Dinah. I do know that Dinah was the youngest of the three.

She was married to Harold Leroy Simpson on April 18, 1953, in Pocahontas, Arkansas. I believe the pair met in St. Louis, but again, I’m not sure.

She and my grandfather eventually separated and divorced. She moved from St. Louis to Irving, Texas.

She died of complications from diabetes on March 4, 1987, at age 53.

Leave a Reply

